- Helping Nurse Practioners Become Certified HOME | TERMS OF USE | CONTACT | ABOUT US | LINK TO US | SITEMAP
Nurse Practitioner Zone

North Dakota Nurse Practitioner Certification

North Dakota NPs are called APRNs. Like many other states, North Dakota recognizes four types of APRNs: nurse anesthetist, NP, nurse–midwife, and CNS. The North Dakota Board of Nursing regulates NPs and other APRNs. In North Dakota, a CNP may provide primary health care. Because North Dakota is largely rural, many NPs serve as primary care providers to their patients. An NP may choose to become a primary care CNP or an acute care CNP. Each job has separate national-based competency and certification requirements.

NPs may examine patients, take comprehensive histories, order and administer diagnostic tests, diagnose patients, rehabilitate patients, manage health problems, and offer education and guidance regarding promotion of health and prevention of disease or disability. North Dakota NPs may prescribe medications under certain conditions.

Nurse practitioners may practice in various areas, such as family practice, women’s health care, pediatrics, internal medicine, and geriatrics. They may work in a variety of settings, including doctor’s offices, clinics, hospitals, managed healthcare facilities, schools, and long-term care facilities.

North Dakota

In order to become a CNP in North Dakota, you must be licensed as an RN in North Dakota or one of the compact states. You must also complete an accredited graduate-level education program designed to prepare you to become a nurse practitioner; it may be at the master’s or doctorate level. Your coursework must include classes on advanced health assessment, advanced physiology/pathophysiology, and advanced pharmacology. Your coursework must be focused on a specific population group (such as children, women, or the elderly) and must be centered on either acute or primary care.

Schools in North Dakota that offer graduate-level NP programs include: University of North Dakota, North Dakota State University, and University of Mary. However, in a state that is largely rural, such as North Dakota, many students elect to earn their degrees online. Online programs offer flexibility and convenience of scheduling and location for students who are far from campus-based schools. Many online schools offer nationally accredited, graduate-level NP programs, and the training and education from these schools is comparable to that of traditional campus-based schools. All components, including the clinical requirements, are met by schools such as Philadelphia University, University of Cincinnati, Frontier School of Midwifery and Family Nursing, Liberty University, South University, and Graceland University.

After you have completed your advanced practicing nursing degree and received your master’s degree or post-master’s certificate, you will be eligible to take an exam in your chosen specialty area with a national professional nurse certifying body. The state of North Dakota recognizes national certification examinations, offered for a variety of specialties, given by the AANP Certification Program. If you enter the field of pediatrics, you will take an exam offered by the PNCB.

Due to a shortage of physicians in rural areas, CNPs are always in demand in North Dakota. Whether you work in an urban area or a rural area, you will find the salary ranges to be generous. On average, North Dakota NPs earn $89,000 per year. Salaries will vary based on location, area of specialty, experience, and other factors.

Nurse Practitioner Certification - Home

Last Updated: 05/19/2014